Rated PG

Narrated by Andre Braugher, Standing in the Shadows of Motown is an acclaimed documentary that details the immense and incredible contributions of The Funk Brothers to one of the music industry’s most prolific labels.

While its name may be mentioned from time to time, the members’ individual names are unknown to many.  The Funk Brothers is comprised of drummer Richard “Pistol” Allen; percussionist Jack Ashford; bassist Bob Babbitt; drummer Benny “Papa Zita” Benjamin; percussionist Eddie “Bongo” Brown; keyboardist Earl Van Dyke; keyboardist Johnny Griffith; keyboardist Joe Hunter; bassist James Jamerson; drummer Uriel Jones; guitarist Joe Messina; guitarist Robert White; and guitarist Eddie Willis.

For greater enlightenment...